Oh my Llog! – Alberto Ramírez Martinell

December 16, 2005

Research Training Programme

Filed under: In the classroom — armartinell @ 1:21 am

During the Michaelmas term 2005 Julie-Ann Sime, my supervisor, suggested me to take some of the courses offered by the Faculty of Art and Social Sciences in its extensive Research Training Programme.

Ins and Outs of Copyright. In this 1.5 hour course, the course convenor highlighted some of the issues of dealing with book publications, film rights, sound recordings, artistic works, poems, plays, computer software and other copyrighted materials. There was a group discussion about the materials that postgraduate students produced during our stay in LU.

Designing and Undertaking Doctoral Research. During this 18 hour module, the course convenor invited four researches who had just finished their PhD to talk about their experiences as a PhD student, then all of the course participants presented our research proposal. Although I found the course not as profitable as I would have liked, at the end I presented for the first time my project to an audience, being exposed to questioning and critic and I wrote a 5000-word essay, which helped me to organise my thoughts and commit my ideas to paper.

Elementary Data Analysis and Computing for Social Research 1: Descriptive Statistics and Elementary Data Analysis and Computing for Social Research 2: Hypothesis Testing. Both modules (18 hours) given in a row by the same convenor. The courses aimed to provide general knowledge of quantitative data analysis handled with SPSS.

Alberto Ramírez Martinell

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

